Upcoming Concerts and Events in

Saint Mary’s Cathedral

Tuesday 13th August – Sunday 25th August 2019

Amazing Lace Exhibition

                                              
Wednesday 14th August at 1.15pm – Lunchtime Concert
Kym Corridan and David King 
Thursday 15th August 2019 at 8.00pm    
Chamber Philharmonia
 
Saturday 17th August 2019 at 8.00pm
Irish Youth Choir     
      
         
Friday 17th – Sunday 25th August – 2.30pm – 3.30pm 
Heritage Week – Free Tour of the Cathedral
                                  
                                          
Wednesday 28th August at 1.15pm – Lunchtime Concert
Andreea Banciu (viola) & Aileen Cahill (piano)

Friday 20th September 2019

Limerick Culture Night – Opera Delights 5.30pm

Monday 23rd September 2019

Pig Town Festival Guided Tour 3.00pm

Saturday 28th September 2019

Derek Moloney in Concert

Tuesday 1st October 2019

October Lecture Series 1.00pm

                                                                                                                                                   

Tuesday 8th October 2019

October Lecture Series 1.00pm

Tuesday 15th October 2019

October Lecture Series 1.00pm

                                 

Sunday 20th October 2019

Open House – St John’s Church Abington

Tuesday 22nd October 2019

October Lecture Series 1.00pm

                                   

Tuesday 29th October 2019

October Lecture Series 1.00pm
                                   

Wednesday 13th November 2019

Villiers Remembrance Service

Saturday 30th November 2019

St. Martins/Martinmas Fair

Saturday 7th December 2019

Regina Nathan Concert 8.00pm

Friday 13th December 2019

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Saturday 14th December 2019

Curraghower Singers 8.00pm

Tuesday 17th December 2019

Ancor Christmas Concert 8.00pm

Friday 20th December 2019

Villiers Carol Service

                           

Visit us during 2019

Saint Mary’s Cathedral was founded in 1168 AD and stands majestically over the City of Limerick on the banks of the River Shannon. It is one of the most important medieval buildings to survive intact in Ireland, which is still performing its original function.

It is believed to have been built on the site of a Viking thingmote (meeting place), and later the palace of the O’Brien kings of Thomond. It is an extraordinary building that has been ever-present during invasions, sieges, battles, wars, famines and times of peace. It is also a treasure of Irish religious art.

We encourage you to visit us, whether for worship, reflection, for a self-guided tour, or for a concert or special event.


Visitor Opening Times

Open daily, year round

Monday to Thursday: 09.00 to 17.00h (last admission 16.30h)

Friday: 09.00 to 16.00h (last admission 15.30h)

Saturday: 09.00 to 16.00h (last admission 15.30h)

Sunday: 13.30 to 16.00h (last admission 15.30h)

Bank Holidays: 11.00 to 15.00h (last admission 14.30h)


Closed:
 Saint Mary’s Cathedral is closed on December 26 and 27 and on January 1.


Admission Fees

Adults: €5.00
Students (with valid ID): €3.50
Children (aged 0 – 10): Free

Souvenir walk-around guides are available for €1.00 – in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Dutch.


Buy your tickets online (valid for 365 days from purchase)

You can buy tickets online here on this website. Tickets are instant and the single-visit tickets are valid for use during our opening times within 365 days of your purchase.  So, if you are travelling from near or far, you can buy in advance and use at your leisure.

You can buy your online tickets here


Visiting supports the Cathedral:
  We are passionate about conserving, preserving and sharing the rich heritage of Saint Mary’s Cathedral. We do not receive any Government or EU funding toward the day-to-day running and maintenance of this historic building. Your support, whether through your admission fees or donations, is important and does make a difference in ensuring that the many and varied aspects of the Cathedral’s life and ministry continue.

Visit Limerick – see www.limerick.ie for more information!